RIP Tony Benn

A giant of the British political scene died today after a period of ill health.
Some maintain that his political views, being left wing labour, were outmoded and not relevant to the 20th – 21st centuries.
Whatever, few people would doubt his sincerity and integrity.
Plus he was a bloody nice bloke.
I went to photograph him at his home in Holland Park, London and couldn’t have wished for a better assignment.
Fascinating, lovely man – will be sadly missed.
My feature picture shows him whilst he was still a member of the House, in fact I think he was called the “Father of the House” at that time.
Despite a smoking ban in the Houses of Parliament he blithely continued to puff away on his beloved pipe.
Sorry I can’t find a cleaner version of the picture, which is one of my favourites, it was shot on film and I now can’t find the original !! Always the way eh.

And here is a man who will not be greatly mourning his passing._DSC0247

Tony Blair epitomized much of what Tony Benn felt was wrong with New Labour.
Not much love lost there !

You want to say something ...